A Series of {Fortunate} Events

I’m a firm believer that learning is a gradual progression of building blocks. I’m also a firm believer that each of those blocks is carefully laid with intent by the Ultimate Architect. I’m currently smack in the middle of another amazing summer internship at a bank in Malvern, Iowa. If I’d been asked a year ago where I would be working in summer 2016, the tiny town of Malvern wouldn’t have cracked the top 100 guesses. Through an unpredictable series of circumstances, though, God led me here, kicking and screaming all the way.

Long story short, I’m an ag loan officer intern at the one and only Malvern Trust & Savings Bank, and I’m sealing the “application” building block of my education in agricultural lending. Looking back, I would label last summer as the Introductory and Experiential building blocks.

Icubs

“The Iowa Bankers Association (IBA) hosted an event for the students in its internship program this week by treating the group to an Iowa Cubs game at Principal Park.” (I’m on the left front, pink shirt)

As a financial officer intern at Farm Credit Services of America, I spent my days shadowing ag loan officers as well as other job families within the company. Compared to this summer, last summer was much more of a “watch and learn” type of internship. I became a living sponge, soaking up every conversation, answer to a question, or committee meeting discussion.

 

 

This summer, I’m diving in headfirst. It’s all hands on deck at this place. No, I’m not actually making loans, although I’ve entered my share of debt modifications and loan applications. Instead, my designated role is to complete a farm inspection of every farm customer with an operating line and then document that inspection.

Gary, an ag loan officer I’m working with, calls me his official scribe. I take notes and pictures of collateral on each farm visit and then return to the office to write a report and label the pictures. I then file the inspection report and pictures in the respective customer’s credit file. So far, I’ve done roughly 22 inspections along with Mike and Gary, the bank’s two ag loan officers.

As an English nerd, this job suits me perfectly. Who would have thought that an ag loan officer does so much writing? Hey wait… so maybe this is why they’re so eager to let me write the reports….

Either way, I don’t care. I enjoy my job. I would like to think that my writing skillset brings something to the table. Hopefully the bank examiners will agree when they read my reports in the fall! Lucky for me, I have to go back to school before the bank exam, so I’ll be off the hook….hehe. Just kidding. They all have my cell number anyway.

In all seriousness, I’ll be sad when the summer comes to an end. The exciting thing is, only one semester stands between my graduation from Dordt College and my December 30th wedding. I think it’s safe to say that the Malvern Bank has prepared me well for a big girl job.

Want to learn more about the Malvern Bank? Website: http://www.malvernbank.com/

Leave a Reply

