Blogging? I’ll take a stab…with a pitchfork.

For the past few months, I have been toying with the idea of jumping on the blogging bandwagon. Turns out, my Dordt College journalism class made the final decision for me. So here I am, sharing my thoughts for all the world to read. Gulp.

IMG_0106

My dad enjoys participating in ” tractor rides” around Southwest Iowa. A few years ago, I went along on a daddy-daughter outing. He even let me drive his pride and joy– his restored 1456!

As a farmer’s daughter, a former 4-H and FFA junkie, an agricultural business major, and a farmer’s girlfriend, I had little trouble choosing a topic to blog about: agriculture. Here in the great (and freezing cold) state of Iowa, I have grown up with a love and appreciation for the sights, sounds, and smells (ok, maybe not so much the  of rotten beans or dead pigs) of the farm. For those of you who know me, I’m sure you’re well aware of my passion for agriculture. For those of you who don’t know me, you will soon find out!

My hope is that this blog can be a source of encouragement and quite possibly entertainment to other gals (and guys!) who also enjoy the blessings of agriculture. Today, hardworking farm families face a plethora of misperceptions and negative connotations regarding the agricultural industry. It is my intent to speak out for agriculture in this blog, shedding some light on what truly goes on. Finally, I hope to challenge and inspire other young women to pursue careers and lives that are tied into agriculture. The opportunities are endless!

For the next couple months, I will be blogging at least once a week. So, if you like what I have to say, feel free to follow my posts, leave comments, or give me tips! As a newbie to virtual journalism, I need all the feedback I can get.

Thanks for reading! Here’s to a new adventure in the cornfields of Iowa!

2 thoughts on “Blogging? I’ll take a stab…with a pitchfork.

Leave a Reply

